Home > Haiti 2010 > Haiti – Day 3

Haiti – Day 3

“God today I invite You once more to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry.”
Breakfast consisted of some type of scrambled eggs with chili peppers and a reddish gravyish something? Weird but tasty. We finished breakfast early enough to take a tour of the old World Hunger Relief farm and the site of the new school.
We then returned to the house to prepare for our work projects. Don and I brought gloves and found out very soon that this was not such a good idea. As soon as the local workers spotted these gloves, we were nearly mauled for them. We gave them all away and didn’t have enough to go around. God revealed to me yet another way we Americans have it all messed up. As I gave a pair of gloves to one worker, he then in turn gave one of them to another worker.
It is a matter of life or death for some of these people to depend on one another and is a way of life even in the smallest areas. As Andy Stanley said at Passion 2010, “your generosity will ensure that the things you own don’t own you!” This is alive in Ferrier!
We had a hard time getting instructions on our specific duties for this project, so a few of us looked around and found some guys moving branches from one spot to another. We decided to jump right in and help! About three minutes into it, our translator, Jeff, came running to us and told us to stop touching the branches. Apparently these are wicked poisonous branches of death! He proceeds to tell us in his broken english that the cactus branch secretes a white gummy substance which I had already covering my hands and Kaitlyn had on her face near a fresh cut. It turns out that this substance is violently poisonous and will burn with excruciating pain if it enters the eyes or any open wounds. We immediately went up the hill to the water well and washed off.
We then decided to go see the guys with the pic axes and shovels to see if we could help. Their goal was to dig a trench two inches deep by one foot wide and a few hundred feet long. We were finally able to get some tools from some of the guys to help out. It was about this time that God began to break me. Only it was physically! I began to feel very sick to my stomach and shortly after, I was around the back of a building violently releasing the special scrambled egg chili pepper red gravy cocktail that I had eaten for breakfast while three children watched from five feet away! I tried to go back to work after that but just couldn’t seem to get things in order so I decided to go back to the house and obliterate a box of Pepto chewables!
One major learning curve for us during our first morning of work was the inferiority of the Haitians, especially when Cassie began swinging the pic axe! It seems they felt that we would cost them their jobs by coming to provide free labor. So each time someone tried to do something, they began working harder and faster to try to “out work” the blancos (whites in french). We decided to back off to ease their minds.
After about an hour, I finally started to feel a bit better. A group of us walked down the the school to do crafts with the kids, but when we arrived, some of the students were testing. We visited with some of the other kids for awhile, then decided to move on to avoid disrupting the students who were testing.
We headed back to the house just in time for lunch which consisted of a chicken, potato, carrot, stewy something. I passed and settled for a microscopic portion of beans and rice. After lunch we decided to walk down to check on the church/school bench project and medical clinic. At the church, we experienced the same resistance as the new school project.
We then went on to check out the clinic. They had a very good process of checking patience in, seeing them, and getting their prescriptions filled. Over 100 patients were able to get help today. Big thanks to the doctors, nurses, and their assistants. They worked very hard!
The rest of the day consisted of playing with the kids out in front of the house. It began to to rain and we were all forced to go inside…all but Cassie and Tatiana. The kids just wouldn’t let them go.
Supper was a special time as it was Eeds 50th birthday. She is the wife of Jackson, our host for the week. We ate and celebrated her birthday.
We were also able to partake in some heavy duty communion that I am sure consisted of some type of rum!
As earlier stated, God clearly broke me more physically today than spiritually, but He knows what I need and what is best for me so I trust He will continue to work in me to get His job done! The streets are much more empty and quiet tonight than compared to this time last night. So are we with regards to ourselves!
“God I invite You to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry.”
Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. — 2 Corinthians 12:8-9 (ESV)

For we are glad when we are weak and you are strong. Your restoration is what we pray for. — 2 Corinthians 13:9 (ESV)
Categories: Haiti 2010
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

