Home > Haiti 2010 > Haiti – Day 6

Haiti – Day 6

“God I invite You to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry.”
Today is church day! Despite the fact that the locals have one good set of clothes and wear them to church every Sunday, I had to resort to a wet shirt and shorts as my “church clothes” received major contact with the rain from last night.
Church was definitely a new experience. We were seated up on the platform in the front of the church in what I believe would normally be the choir loft? Definitely a weird deal walking into a Haitian church and being seated on display! I felt terrible about it….
Haitian church services consisted of much singing and some preaching. Jimmy was the honorary speaker and used the illustration of Nehemiah to challenge the people of Ferrier to have a passion for their city and to take individual responsibility for the work that is needed here.
After church we all had lunch and most went straight into a coma-like state directly afterwards. A group of us brave ones decided to take the kids down to a near field and have a time of organized games. Games they were. Organized? Whew! Not so much!
We played several different games including wheelbarrow races, red rover, traditional foot racing, and duck, duck, goose! We brought toys with us and decided to start revealing them to the kids. This is always a bad idea here because the kids will form a mob very quickly and will want ALL you have. Claire began handing out balloons and eventually had to stop due to them being unruly. We sat the kids down in one big circle and began handing out Mardi Gras beads. This process seemed to go much smoother and everyone who was there got beads.
Once we got back to the house, the fun didn’t stop. We did our daily routine of jump rope and loving kids until it was time for supper.
After supper we all headed back to the church for an evening worship service. Many of the kids followed us there and attended the service with us. Ednei was asleep in my lap about half way through. All I could keep thinking was “thank You God that this child can come to You and You will give him rest for his soul and his body!” After church, we all headed back home and hung out until the generator was turned off. Then a few of us decided to stay up beyond this and stargaze. Everyone was completely silent and strangely ok with it all.
“God I invite You to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry.”
“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” — Matt. 11:28-30 (ESV)

Categories: Haiti 2010
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

