Home > Haiti 2010 > Haiti – Day 8

Haiti – Day 8

“God I invite You to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry.”
Today was fun day for the team. Most of us loaded into the back of a pick-up truck and headed to see the only historical landmark in Haiti, the Citadel.
This is a very interesting piece of history and is worth researching! The 3000 foot climb was absolutely body-breaking. Some of the team decided to rent horses, but most of us decided to walk. This walk is completely straight up the mountain.
It took over 2 hours to get to the top. This place was absolutely amazing! It took about and hour and a half to take the tour and get some very interesting information!
The walk down was obviously quicker and easier, but still a work-out due to the sharp incline of the trail. Once we arrived at the bottom, we had lunch and headed back to Ferrier.
Needless to say, those who walked the trail were resting and opted out on the evening playtime with the children. I really think I would look like a paraplegic trying to jump rope out there! After my shower, I decided to pack what stuff I had left to take home.
We had an early supper and then had a party for all the workers who served our team this week. They all received gifts and it was a great time to see such joy on their faces. “God may we gain joy in serving as these men and women do!”
We head out at 8:30am to journey back to Santiago. I believe yesterday this place really began to grow on me. I’m not so overwhelmed with the poverty as much as I am with the love of these people. Regardless of their circumstances, they do what they know to do and trust God with everything else. I love their faith and pray that I could have a fraction of it!
“God, the invitation to break my heart and make me cry for the things that make You cry will remain open for life.”
The LORD builds up Jerusalem; he gathers the outcasts of Israel. He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. — Psalm 147:2-3
Categories: Haiti 2010
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

