Home > Family, Uncategorized > A Note To My Son

A Note To My Son

Today you turn 14 years old. I’m not sure why, but your turning 14 seems to weigh a little heavier than previous years.

20110319-062020.jpg

All day today I couldn’t stop replaying the scene when your mom and I learned that we would be parents. We were only kids ourselves and the thought of being a mom or a dad was unimaginable. I was literally scared sick! However, God always seems to put us in positions of uncertainty to reveal to us our desperate need for Him. God used YOU to radically alter our lives. 14 years ago today, EVERYTHING CHANGED!

I also couldn’t help but meditate on the significance of a first born son. In the bible, a first born son was a very important role and came with a heap of privileges, but more importantly, huge responsibilities. In Israel, the firstborn son was given twice as much of the inheritance as the rest of the sons. This isn’t true of firstborn daughters, because it was assumed that they would marry and become sharers in the inheritance of their husbands; that way, inheritances wouldn’t be combined. Another unique feature of being the firstborn son, is that they belonged to God. Exodus 13:1-2 says, “The LORD said to Moses, “Consecrate to me all the firstborn. Whatever is the first to open the womb among the people of Israel, both of man and of beast, is mine.”

Although now through Jesus, we all have this inheritance, I couldn’t think of a better way to explain how important you are to us than by showing you how important you are to God! You belong to Him and your mom and I are humbled that He has enough trust to allow us the privilege of raising you. You are such a fine young man and blessing to us. I can’t express in mere words how much I love you and how proud I am of you!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY HUNTER!

Love Dad

Categories: Family, Uncategorized
  1. Sue Forman
    March 19, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Blake this is beautiful & so fitting & true. I’m very proud of the man that you have become. You have been truly blessed with a wonderful wife & together have had three beautiful children. I’m so proud of the way y’all have raised & taught my grandchildren how to love the Lord, & others. Hunter is a kind, sweet, loving kid that makes us all proud.. I love you & your family very much..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

