Home > Bible Studies, Christian Living, Missions > By Default, Move Me To Action

By Default, Move Me To Action

As stated yesterday on the blog, I intend to digest the next few weeks of personal devotion by writing it here.

Of all the goodness that came from today’s devotion time, one spot has stood out to me above the rest. Here it is:

    “And they went through the region of Phrygia and Galatia, having been forbidden by the Holy Spirit to speak the word in Asia. And when they had come up to Mysia, they attempted to go into Bithynia, but the Spirit of Jesus did not allow them.” ~Acts 16:6-7

Did you see what just happened? Paul, Silas and Timothy was doing the right thing; taking the gospel to people who needed to hear it. But they were divinely shut down! 20111127-215106.jpg

Fast forward a few thousand years and what do we see? The exact opposite. Have you ever heard this phrase; “I’m waiting for God to open some doors”? Have you used this phrase? I know I have. But over the past few months, god has challenged me with a new understanding. Here are my reactions to these verses:

    – If my job as a follower of Christ is ultimately to share the Gospel with those who so desperately need to hear it, why not move toward them until God stops me?

    – Why is it ok to sit back and ask God to “open some doors”?

    – Why do I sometimes handle Matthew 28:19-20 as a great “suggestion” instead of a “commission”?

    – Why can’t the prayer be, “God, would you shut those doors that you would rather me not walk through at this time”?

The main problem is that my default mode is to squat until God shoves me into the place He has called me to be. This is a very apathetic (and pathetic) reaction to a God who gave EVERYTHING for me. God forgive me for believing the lie that the door isn’t open and for my complacency with the task ahead of me that has already been revealed to me through your Word. Reprogram my heart so that my default mode is to GO!

Here is where I spent my devotion time this afternoon:

    Isaiah 37-38
    Psalm 93
    Acts 16

    – Day 1 of the book Behold, The Lamb of God”

    – Operation World prayer focus on the people groups of Turkmenistan

    – Joshua Project prayer focus on the unreached/unengaged Lohana of India

    Barefoot Church: Chapter 3, “Where Gathering and Scattering Collide”

    In addition to these planned resources, I read over this resource from The Village Church near Dallas, Tx. I also listened to tons of music but these verses from this familiar hymn has stuck with me all day:

      “O to grace how great a debtor
      Daily I’m constrained to be!
      Let that grace now like a fetter,
      Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
      Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
      Prone to leave the God I love;
      Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
      Seal it for Thy courts above.”
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

