Home > Christian Living > Fresh Bread

Fresh Bread

It’s been forever since I’ve written anything, but I assure you it’s not because I have nothing to say. In fact, the opposite is true…I have more words than time. I even broke out the old pen and pad the other day to jot down some thoughts as I was reading. I hope to post some of these in the coming weeks.

Join me in pondering this thought…

20120805-234243.jpg

Manna shows up in Exodus when the Israelites were led out into the desert on a journey that would prove to be long and tiresome. The manna was God’s provision of food for them. But it wasn’t just food for them to eat as much as it was prophecy to be fulfilled. Prophecy of a greater need and God’s provision to meet that need.

Manna is a picture of Jesus; the bread of life come down from heaven and satisfies our most desperate need…life.

Manna was needed to sustain life. Enough manna was provided. Hoarding was a no-no because God knows greed is at the root of hoarding. I don’t lift a finger to earn my manna. Every morning I wake up and it’s just there…everywhere. All I do is taste and see that It is good. Jesus is the Manna, the bread of life.

Jesus told the crowds in John 6:35, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.”

And sometimes, I am just like the crowds. Sometimes, I don’t believe He can do it.

  1. paulpettefer
    August 6, 2012 at 8:50 am

    This truth is so covered in the midst of this life. Even our church activity conceals that Jesus is the bread of life. RockOn for your raw and true life with God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

