Home > Christian Living, Church Issues, Family, Missions > To The Neighborhoods and To The Nations (Part 3)

To The Neighborhoods and To The Nations (Part 3)

Part 3:
We’re planting a church because our ‘HANDS’ are being defined by the Gospel

As we continue to see glimpses of Jesus in the people we encounter, our response is to raise our hands. We raise our hands in a manner of worship that tells God, ‘we let go of all of these fading trinkets and cling ever so tightly to You.’

As we cling to Christ, we can’t help but be reminded by His words,

‘For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

A heart that is truly defined by the gospel causes us to see the world in a manner of love and compassion. This love and compassion is flowing into our hands with an urgency that knows no limits. And at the same time, we find ourselves constantly wrestling with material things. In Matthew 6, Jesus instructs us,

‘Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.’

Jesus knows our hearts all too well. He knows that our tendency is to only lay up leftovers in heaven and seek treasure here on earth. By this, I mean that I’m constantly having to evaluate my generosity to be certain that when I give of my time and resources, that I realize that Jesus is the recipient and deserves the best, not what’s leftover. I find myself constantly repenting of my self-centeredness and love for earthly treasures.

We have this vision of ‘incarnational’ ministry. This idea is taken from the guy who started this revolution a few thousand years ago. While we were in our greatest need, with only a faint glimpse of hope for rescue and salvation, looking around at the brokeness and hurt that surrounded us, Jesus moved into our neighborhood to begin a restoration project that continues even today. What a privilege it is that we get be part of this ministry!

So with our hands, we begin construction in so many facets. We’ve purchased a house that will be receiving a facelift over the next few months. Once this project is complete, our plan is to sell our home and property in the country and move into the neighborhood. But the most important restoration project begins as we extend our hands and resources to the community that we’re called to join with hopes that Jesus would be reflected in our work and in our lives. We’re asking that God would gather a group of believers to join us on this journey with the hopes that we would soon see a viable expression of the Church in our community; one that is made up of this community, is led by this community, and is for this community.

Will you join us in asking God to begin raising up and calling out believers to join us in this effort? Whether called to pray for us, prepare us, or plant with us, we realize our desperate need of the Church during these days…

Part 1

Part 2

  1. October 16, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Blake this is awesome!!! I had no idea u were planting a church

    • October 16, 2012 at 5:15 pm

      Yes we’ve been wrapping up our student ministry duties at Houston River to begin dreaming and praying! Exciting times they are!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

