Home > Christian Living, Family > The Great Interference

The Great Interference

I was nearly to the back of the crowd, up 5 or 6 rows, on the far end, near the wall. I’d sat in this place, on and off, for nearly a year. During this time, I heard stories of a man from Nazareth who came from a place that I wasn’t allowed to enter because I was unclean, lived a life that I am still unable to live on my own, proclaimed a message that went against the religious pop-culture, took the death that I was to die away from me and owned it for Himself. His name is Jesus. He came full of grace and truth…and I desperately needed both.

AXRJP4

When I reached out to receive Jesus, these words of Ezekiel were sung over me, “I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean from all your uncleannesses, and from all your idols I will cleanse you. And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules. You shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers, and you shall be my people, and I will be your God.”

…AND I STILL CAN’T GET OVER THIS!

As I remember this day, 12 years ago, I’m overwhelmed beyond words. My heart is so very full as I reflect on this journey and become more and more anxious for what’s next.

A look back humbles me and I am grateful for God’s provisions. He has given me Ashley, who has been instrumental in my journey of faith. Her consistent prayers, encouragement, model for compassion and how well she loves others continue to be a miracle in my eyes. She constantly amazes me. I’ve also had a number of influencers along this faith journey, some who are no longer in arms reach, and some who continue to patiently walk with me to hear my thoughts and guide me toward righteousness. I am indebted to those who have spoken honesty and encouragement as well as admonishment and rebuke into my life. Their kindness and wisdom causes God to smile.

My kids, as well as countless others’ kids, have taught me things I didn’t even know I didn’t know! That new heart which was given to me immediately began to beat for students. I’ve had the privilege of knowing some amazing young people who constantly challenge my way of thinking and leading. Some are just entering their jr. high years and some have started raising a family and others are at all points in between. All I can say is What. A. Ride.

As chapter after chapter is being opened and read, the storyline is this, Jesus is my King. His Kingdom is justice and love. And I have the privilege of serving in His courts.

[…turns the page]

  1. Carolyn Doo
    April 18, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    WOW, Blake! Your testimonies always blow me away!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

